20 comments on “SP Result is in, positive attempt but didn’t make it 1st time

  1. Hey mate,

    Sorry to hear you didn’t make it! I totally agree with you about its passable, and yes failable but more passable! I made the mistake of taking it TOO easy as I have come across alot of the stuff asked in the lab in my job (including the part L2 you couldn’t get working). I stuffed up on MVPN and I did some restribution wrong in the MPLS section which cost me 2 questions (that one and the another one later), but thouhgt I had enough points to get through and therefore had alot of time left over but didn’t verify enough etc…

    PM me on my email for a further chat if you like! I think you should try to do the lab sooner than September mate, you don’t want to fall out of the pattern of study! I have booked my next attempt in for April 17 (after Easter weekend). I had a week off study after my lab and now back into it.

    Cheers,
    mpls-te

  2. Sorry to hear the news. You did put in the time and I believe you are ready. I disagree with you on the sept attempt. I seriously think you need to attempt in April. I know its hard to leave family but trust me it is a lot easier to start over right away rather than waiting a few months down the road. You are already in the mindset of the lab and you can just work on your weakness and go at it again.

  3. I didn’t want to mention it in my last comment (for fear of needlessly psych-ing you out), but it took me two attempts to pass the SP lab, too. From this blog entry, it sounds like both of our first attempts were pretty similar in nature.

    Just another data point (adding to what the guys above are saying): I failed my first attempt on 12/2 but passed on 2/13 during my second attempt. If at all possible, don’t wait too long to get back in the saddle.

    Good luck!

  4. I’m very sorry to hear the news. Don’t worry, you will make it next time 🙂
    I completely agree with other lads – don’t wait to long with the next attempt; April/May seems to be better option than September.
    I made this mistake for my Security exam years ago…
    Cheers,
    Seba

  5. Sorry to hear that, man.
    But don’t worry. My first attempt with CCIE RS wasn’t successful, but then I hit the target. Now years later I have my SP lab scheduled for March.
    Try to have a rest, then cover the black spots and get another seat during the next 2-3 months.

  6. IE AND IPX. Actually they are very different. IMHO IPX is better explained, better SP rack availability but pretty basic.

  7. Dont worry man, you have done a great job till now, i wont say sorry rather congrats because as some one said:

    Journey that brings the happiness not the destiny…!

    and specially “Victory Belongs to the most persevering”

    so just keep going 🙂

    And All the Best for Next Time.

  8. Sorry to hear that but as other folks said , you deserve that and you need to take it earlier

    good luck with you study and really you deserve it

  9. Hello Steve,

    Really sorry to hear this. But you made your mind to take it as positive approach,glad to see your confidence.rest for a day and plan to hit the target in very next time.

    All the best.

    Regards,
    Vignesh

  10. To be honest, you’ve done a very very good job. I believe the next attempt should be more passable. I’ve got confidence in you. Cheers.

  11. Thanks guys for the positive comments – very much appreciated – Blog will remain intact through the 2nd attempt and expect to see some technology focussed entries soon.
    Regards,
    Steve

  12. Hi Steve

    I’m sure you will get it, just keep at it. The mistake people can make is giving up.

    All good things have to be struggled for.

    I have my 2nd attempt coming up soon, so I know how you feel.

    Good Luck and all the best.

    Zarar

  13. Hey Steve,

    Keep up the hard work. It will pay off soon. I have a quick question for you. On your first attempt, how many rack hours would you estimate you invested?

    Good Luck,
    Morgan

  14. Pingback: Mastering the CCIE SP OEQ [Potential How to] « Stephen Bowes CCIE SP Lab Blog

Leave a Reply

